Home‎ > ‎Archives‎ > ‎

1991 Junior Football Championship Final

Ballinagore   1-05  Ballycomoyle   2-06

1991 saw Frank Dillon from Ballymore appointed team trainer of the Ballinagore team. After an indifferent performance in earlier league games, Ballinagore got off to a good start in the first round of the championship, when they defeated Tang by 3-05 to 1-01 in Ballymore. This setup a meeting with old rivals Delvin in Cusask Park. In a typical Ballinagore-Delvin clash, good, fast open football, the Brosna side came from behind in the closing minutes of the game to win by one point, Ballinagore 2-10 Delvin 3-06.

This setup a quarterfinal clash with near neighbours Tyrrellspass, played in Ballymore. Ballinagore overcame a shaky start in the first half and ran out deserving winners by 3-09 to 1-04 in the finish. Ballinagore were now through to the semi-final, their opponents being the fancied Ballynacargy side who had dropped down from Intermediate ranks the year before. Played in Cusack Park on a sunny Saturday afternoon on the 31st August, the semi-final lived up to everybody’s expectations, and was regarded by many as the best game of football played in the county grounds that year. Ballinagore emerged victorious after a thrilling second half performance. Final score was Ballinagore 3-08 Ballynacargy 1-11.

For the final on September 29th, Ballinagore had to field without the services of top scorer from the semi-final, Pat Deegan, who had returned to South Africa, however we played well in the first half and an opportunist goal by Paul Baker after 10 minutes left us with a half-time lead of 1-02 to 0-02. The second half saw Ballycomoyle come more and more into the game and with Ballinagore failing to reproduce their semi-final form, the men from the Meath border had drawn level by the 55th minute. When MJ Corrigan found the Ballinagore net two minutes later, the men from the banks of the Brosna were in deep trouble, and had to give second best to Ballycomoyle. The final whistle blew with the score Ballycomoyle 2-06 Ballinagore1-05.

Team: Stephen Brudell, Sean Claffey, John Durkan, Pat Seery, Jimmy Marshall, Kieran Daly, Gerry Claffey, Brendan Robinson, Sean Robinson, Peter Robinson, Norman Maxwell, Louis Ennis, Jarlath Mahon (0-1), Rory O'Brien, Paul Baker (1-4). Subs: Gerry Linnane for Peter Robinson, Jim Mahon for Brendan Robinson, Tony Robinson for Jarlath Mahon. Trainer:Frank Dillon, Selectors: George Alexander, Tony Robinson, Mick O'Connor.

Unknown user,
17 Sep 2011, 10:19