Club News‎ > ‎

Ballinagore GAA Notes, 12th February 2012

posted 12 Feb 2012, 13:54 by Ballinagore Gaa
ACFL Division 3
We play Kilbeggan in the second round of the league this Sunday at 11.30am in Ballinagore.

Townland League
The league concluded last Friday night with two great finals in Senior and Junior. The Junior final was contested between last years' champions Ballinagore East, managed by Kieran Deegan, and challengers Ballinagore West under Ciarán Daly. The first half saw both teams scoring freely with green and white flags on both sides. Ballinagore East had much of the possession but Jarlath Ennis in the Western goal made some excellent saves to keep the champions at bay. The second half saw Ballinagore West take the upper hand with solid performances from midfield and the full forward line, but the East came with a late flourish to reduce the deficit with time running out. It was too late however, and even a late penalty couldn't help Ballinagore East retain their title. It finished 6-6 to 4-4 in favour of the West and the trophy was presented to Captain Brian Pidgeon by Westmeath star Michael Ennis. The teams were as follows; Ballinagore West: Jarlath Ennis, Pádraig Kane, Darragh Seery (North), Cathal Daly, Brian Pidgeon (Capt.), David Ennis, Patrick Ennis, Rebecca Ennis. Ballinagore East: Lee Lawlor (South), Fiachra Heeney (North), Ciarán O'Brien, Peter Reynolds, Mark Killian, Cormac Deegan (Capt.), Robert Keegan (North), Eoin Deegan, Shane Seery (North).
The Senior final was contested between Cloneyheigue and Toarlisnamore. This was a repeat of last years final where Toarlisnamore proved victorious, but Cloneyheigue were determined having come through the competition unbeaten. Under the transfer system Toarlisnamore had three guest players and so began the game three points down. The first half was a cagey affair with both sides cautious not to leave themselves open at the back. It was 1-2 to 0-3 at the break, the Cloneyheigue goal expertly taken by corner forward Willie Maloney. The second half was very intense with swift attacks and scores on both sides, and in the end only one point separated the sides. Cloneyheigue turned the tables on last years defeat and claimed the title for the first time with a 1-7 to 0-9 victory. The trophy was presented to joint captains Pat Seery and Michael Heeney. Cloneyheigue: Pat Seery, Pierce Corcoran, Paul Maloney, Liam Corcoran, Ian Seery, Willie Maloney, Michael Heeney, Paul Seery and Nollaig Gannon. Toarlisnamore: Robert Gannon, Mark King (Cloonagh), Michael Gannon, Christy Maloney (Knockmore/Knockeycosker/Raheenmore), Eoin Miller, Derry Hand, Kevin Gannon, Shane Heraty (Cloonagh).
We would like to thank the parents, players, referees and organisers of the tournament for their help co-operation during this years league. Thanks especially to Michael Ennis for making himself available to the youth of the club and we wish him the best with Westmeath this year.

Last weeks winning numbers were 2, 12, 20 and 27. There was no jackpot winner but Caoimhe McCann matched three numbers and won €40. Next weeks jackpot will be €7,900.

Membership for 2012 is now due and is €20 per adult, €5 for students and OAP's ,and €30 for a family inclusive of parents and children under 18. Membership can be paid to the club Registrar Declan Claffey, or any club officer.
Ballinagore took part in Scór Sinsir last weekend in Ballymore and The Downs. On Friday in Ballymore we were represented by Michelle Bray in Solo Singing who sang Bright Blue Rose and in Question Time by Gerry Claffey, Declan Claffey and Martin Hand who qualified for the final with flying colours. On Saturday night we had six acts competing. Solo Singing was Shane Heraty and he sang Matt Hyland, in Recitation Pius Kirby performed 'O'Rourkes Request', the Ballad Group consisted of Paul McKeon, Colette Claffey, Breda Daly, Rosanna Delaney and Shane Heraty and they sang 'The Road To Clady' and 'Beautiful Affair', the Question Timers were Tim O'Connor, Seán Delaney and Shane Heraty, the Novelty Act performed 'The Eternity Ward' and they were Pius Kirby, Pauline Keegan, Mary Kelly, Anne Heraty, Teresa Durkan, Ciarán Daly, Ollie Macken and Shane Heraty; and finally the Set Dancers were Rory O'Brien, Sabrina Linnane, David Holland, Elizabeth Carey, Oliver Reynolds, Sandra Linnane, Shane Heraty and Katrina Leogue. Best of luck to our Recitation, Question Time and Set Dancers who have qualified for the final on Saturday 25th February in The Downs.

Club DVD's
There are currently two Ballinagore GAA DVD's available to purchase from the club. The first is 'The Road To Croker' which includes the 'best bits' of the county finals from 1986 to 2007 along with footage of the very successful 'Road To Croker' fundraiser last June. The second is the Commemorative DVD of the 1986 Silver Anniversary celebrations and includes both the Junior and Junior B championship finals, plus the Cup final of that year. The DVD's are €10 each or both for €15. Contact Seán Delaney on 086 3315686 or Paul Seery on 086 8318124.